PRIVATE DICKS

"One of the tightest 4-piece bands you'll ever hear"

Reviews of Live shows

Crown Cellar Bar - St Nicholas Market 
2nd march 2008

Orig 78/79 band Private Dicks 
Thanks to : www.punk77.co.uk

Enjoyed this gig very much last night. A nice intimate venue, enter a band that haven't really played their hometown of Bristol for nearly 30 years and chuck in a couple of support acts and you have a great night in store. Sadly the crowd was as thin on the ground as some are up top these days. Its a small venue so the atmosphere didn't suffer too badly, all three bands had the benefit of a good sound from the PA ...which always sets the way for a good gig. I was a bit drunk so can't tell you the names of the support bands.. anyway....

Huw Davies - bass guitar and vocals
Mark (Syb's) Seabright - Drums and vocals
Paul Guiver - guitar
Gavin King - Vocals
The Private Dicks have aged well, considering they must be as close to 50 as you can ever be they all appear with hair & teeth and .....significant lack of beer bellys, very helpful if you want to play skinny white boy power pop/new wave. Well maybe the bass player likes a pint and a pie now and again...but ..
Tight drumming and punchy basslines aplenty in this set of songs that couldn't have sounded fresher if they'd been written that morning. Singer Gavin King commands the lyrics as well as any frontman on the current circuit, and that is what makes the difference tonight. It doesn't fall into the trap of becoming a nostalgia night performed by out of practice and out of date blokes having a last night of glory before the pipe and slippers appear. Clearly the band are still in fine form and enjoying playing and the set of songs drew on the album Homelife. Highlights for me included: She said Go (the single from way back), Homelife, Michael and want Some Fun.

I seriously believe this band ...could/would and should ....have been bigger but for a decent name. Sadly as The Private Dicks they were always gonna be instantly dismissed as just another inane band in a world full of exactly that. The sad thing is...this band were a bit special. If you haven't already heard it, get a copy of the album "Homelife" and find out for yourself what a lost gem the Dicks really are.
Now if anyone's got a copy of Private Dicks Live at the Marquee '79
I'd love to hear it 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Private Dicks Famous Bristol Musicians
By Paul Loader
Crown Cellar Bar - St Nicholas Market
2nd march 2008

Back in 1978 me and my best mate Darren ?Bassbin? Williams trawled the music venues of Bristol on our motorbikes (when I say Motorbikes, I do in fact mean our Honda SS50?s, complete with pedals and everything) looking for good live bands to go and watch. I am gutted to say that we never discovered a local band called ?The Private Dicks?. I say I am gutted because some 30 years later I did discovered them at the Crown Cellar Bar in St Nicolas Market and I thought they were amazing.

Me and the boy (The Loaders) were invited by front man Gavin King to go along and support the PD?s on a warm up gig for a small European tour and it felt like an opportunity too good to miss. A great way to introduce my metal loving son to the decent music of my youth.Being that the PD?s heyday was very much in the latter end of the 1970?s as you might imagine the audience that showed up were pretty much in their late 40?s early 50?s, which left this particular reviewer, for once, not feeling like the ?Sonatigen kid?. In fact the first band of the evening (Intern), that included Gavin?s teenage son, looked decidedly uncomfortable surrounded by this rabble of rock octogenarians (even though they played extremely well, and apparently did well in a battle of the bands at Moles in Bath?keep it up lads).

Anyway to the gig. Guitarist Paul Guiver claimed to me afterwards that the band probably only rehearse about once every ten years. Oh right, like I believe that. The band were tight and up together (despite Paul doing my favourite trick of stamping on his tuner pedal instead of his distortion pedal just before a solo, killing all the sound from his guitar. and the occasional blank face as somebody completely forgot how a song started?.I felt right at home.)The band pumped out short catchy songs that defied your feet to stay still and that are still felt as fresh, vibrant and as exciting as they did 30 years ago. Gavin is an obvious performer, and filled the gaps between songs using banter with audience, although I would be interested to hear him chat with an audience made up of people that he didn?t know (and as their next three gigs are in Germany I am sure that?s going to happen soon). He took the audience back in time to a place and an experience that most had probably forgotten existed.

The stories behind songs that had first been performed at Bristol Poly (that?s UWE?s ART Department down by Ashton Court for those of you too young to remember the 70?s), Songs written in Bed Sits, and knowing (carnal) tales of the nurses at the BRI (steady there Gavin, I work for UBHT and I?m damn sure you don?t fancy me). Paul?s guitar was full and choppy and carried the songs along like a runaway roller coaster train (I know, I know??reviewer in full flow?..it?s just that you can?t beat a Fender Stratocaster through a Fender amp?.so bright and crunchy it can cut through glass). The Rhythm section was tight and full to the point that I bet drummer Mark-Sebo-Seabright ached like hell in the morning. Bass man Huw Davies held the stage stoically as if his bass sound were holding the whole thing together, which I suppose to an extent he and Sebo were.The difference between ?The Private Dicks? and most of the Arctic Monkey wannabies that are out there was quite marked. And as the band is in no way flash or pompous it really is down to strong songs played well and a front man that is comfortable with himself and his audience.Suddenly, sat in the Crown Cellar Bar, (where it all apparently started for the PD?s) I was 17 years old again, and remembering why I got into performing in a band in the first place. Oh yeah!, and the metal loving offspring though it was excellent as well?.now that IS a compliment.

TOP


Wild at Heart Berlin march 16 2008

by CLOGGIE CLOG THE DUTCHWOMAN


A dark smokey venue is filled with modern punks/new wave type people. Some of them are dressed like me 30 years ago. Rugs on stage - (not on the band) - and on the ceiling . . . I feel right at home.

Upon a small stage - the drumkit fills almost all the space - are 5 musicians of, shall we say, indeterminate age. They are packed almost on top of each other. The cables lying on the stage mean the threat of broken hips is dangerously high. Heat exhaustion is quite definitely a possibility.

It’s the band the Private Dicks on stage together with their old mate – and guitarist of international renown – the Silver Fox himself, Neil Taylor. With his long, white hair he’s the most prominent of the five on stage by appearance (and the only one that looks like a relic from Lord of the Rings). That is until the lead vocalist steps forward and goes from first to fourth gear in 4 bars . . . taking the band to a higher level and making the audience go wild! He’s quite an entertainer for an old guy, transmuting into some kind of stage-beast, interacting very much with the audience and the rest of the band.

The band sound tight, like they do this every night. The rhythm section of Shugs/bass and Sybs/drums are astoundingly tight and fast. Paul Guiver’s guitar fires through the crowd and meshes into a single sword of sound with Neil Taylor. Guiver’s lead breaks are wonderfully precise yet daring.

Only the initiated know they only play a few times a year. For a laugh and a drink. Well it would appear mostly for the last one...because when they went on stage it was obvious some imbibing had already been carried out. In my view Shugs was loaded before getting on stage and pre-gig I gathered a distinct impression that the others would have been quite happy if they could’ve stayed at the bar. Ah, but they are fooling me. When they finally get onto stage they kick ass and blow everybody away. Me included.

I estimate about 70 people. Small venue so that gives the leapers room to move. As the opening chug of Don’t follow my Lead sounds the crowd move forward in anticipation. As the drums come in, the place goes mad. In what seems like minutes it’s all over and I honestly could hear it all again, but – ancient gentlemen that they are - that aint gonna happen. After all this is their third gig in a row. They’ve travelled 800 miles with The Not Amused – a great support band – and voracious partying partners.

I travelled all the way from Holland to Berlin just to see them and it was so worth the trip. I hope they all survive until I get to see them on stage again.

My advice to anyone who wants to see some real great live entertainment...go and see the Dicks NOW if you can. They’re not getting any younger you know . . . so NOW’s the time!

TOP

Song reviews

Exile in Neverland

Reviewed on 06 Mar 2009 by a  scout
Score: 5/10
The track had a good tempo and the harmonied really added to the track making it have a cohesive sound. The main vocals were unique but maybe didn't compliment the harmonies as they could have done.

Reviewed on 06 Mar 2009 by a  scout
Score: 7/10
i really liked this song and it made me laugh! simple guitar harmonies and a confident vocals that delivered smart lyrics. what more could you want? well, i think the song needs a more distinct bass line and it also needs to be better mixedmastered. thanks!

Reviewed on 03 Mar 2009 by a  scout
Score: 3/10
An opening line and a great riff on this guitar had a kind of special place time with me on this. What I mean is I did like this but certainly would not buy or download however I feel there will be those out there who will.

Reviewed on 03 Mar 2009 by a  scout
Score: 5/10
An exciting, quick paced track. The music is very fast, frenzied and tight. The percussion is relentless and structured. The guitars are distant but have a dirty, urban feel to them. The vocals are quite good. The lead singer has a racy rock voice that can sometimes sound quite effeminate and reminds me of the flamouyant performers like Alice Cooper. The voice is sexy and hip. The backing vocals are quite wistful and seem more suited to the lyrics. The "exile in Neverland" refrain is quite memorable but a rather odd lyric.

Reviewed on 02 Mar 2009 by a  scout
Score: 7/10
The start could so with slightly more build up into the main part of the song because it seems to go into it nearly straight away. The vocals are different and executed well - The backing vocals also hold an important part of the tune so don't get rid of them!

Reviewed on 28 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 7/10
The recording quality is poor and the composition isn't very good. But that voice is very intriguing. Beautiful! A chorus is also interesting. Try to improv the quality of that recording. I think that it is worth of it.

Reviewed on 25 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 5/10
The vocals were the first thing that struck me, they sounded unique to other kind of voices that i have heard before. I felt the song needed more variation, because the vocals were a little repetitive and I was not sure of the purpose and what they were singing about.

Reviewed on 25 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 4/10
Really like this - great vocals, great tempo and arrangement on the melody, and some wonderful lyrics. Shame it's so short, I could really do with this being longer!

Reviewed on 23 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 8/10 
Pretty good! This is the sort of rock recording which would be very likely to appeal under present market conditions in the United Kingdom. I didn't find any obvious areas whicih required improvement and would be able to suggest this as commercially viable in the immediate.

Reviewed on 22 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 6/10
A great lift would be given to the soundtrack on this recording with just a little advancement. Although the lyrics on this record sound satisfactory, they’re not super and have to be enhanced and this record is made to sound rather average because there is nothing unique about the vocal.

TOP

Want some fun

Reviewed on 11 Mar 2009 by a  scout
Score: 4/10
the song is very cold and sounds very dark and very daunting. it needs more effor and more work. its very lame and the vocals are very harsh and not good to hear. the song is horrid

Reviewed on 06 Mar 2009 by a  scout
Score: 5/10
The song had a catchy tempo and I thought that could help it resonate. I would have liked to hear more rise and fall in the track to give it dimension but overall it wasn't bad.

Reviewed on 03 Mar 2009 by a  scout
Score: 5/10
The style of the song is a little old fashioned in style and approach, you may want to help the song by adding more modern notes into the song. i think the vocals were a little strange in tone though.

Reviewed on 02 Mar 2009 by a  scout
Score: 6/10
Not a bad song. the vocal's are different and the guitar solos were really quite enjoyable. It think it's saying want some fun but it sounds like they are swearing. This is also enjoyable.

Reviewed on 01 Mar 2009 by a  scout
Score: 10/10
Great music and fab vocals! Awesome guitar solo and generally a really good song. Would definetly buy if out in the shops. I also like the unique little whistling at the end!

Reviewed on 27 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 8/10
The vocal and the instruments are both very impressive. They blended well to come out with a delightful production.

Reviewed on 25 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 8/10
I think the track sounded very original. The beat was dynamics and the sections are unpredictable. You'll get surprised once in a while. It is easy to listen to because of the vocals and I'm pretty impressed with how good the instruments were played.

Reviewed on 25 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 8/10
A groovy mover and shaker, with some electrifying guitar riffs used. The artists voice is powerfully conducted and well used. Great beat as well, sounds kickass.

Reviewed on 23 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 4/10
This song needed more variation to it, the music was fine and I thought this was well played, but the lyrics were repeated over and over throughout the song. This gave it a very repetitive sound which also harms it's chances of people wanting to listen to it again. I think with more lyrics and less repetition of them this song would improve vastly.

Reviewed on 21 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 6/10
Despite the fact that the track didn’t acquire my attention, it will catch someone’s, but generally the performance could be enhanced and if the construction was formed a bit better, I felt that perhaps this soundtrack would sound attractive and it is not the most greatest music I’ve listened to - if this is in nowadays then it would possibly be enormous across the world.

Reviewed on 20 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 6/10
some good guitar tones and nice well paced drum beats - vocals are a little too weak in comparison to volume of music but are right tone wise for the track

Reviewed on 17 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 7/10
This track has a retro sort of 60s beatles sound to it however with quirky vocals, I like the guitar playing a lot too.

Reviewed on 15 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 7/10
a fun track that is easy to listen too it had a nice sound to it the singers had a nice sound to there voice i really enjoyed this track

Reviewed on 13 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 7/10
Nice music and voices Both of them combined well in the song BEat and tempo of the instrumental play is good too Nice rythm along with their singing.

Reviewed on 11 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 8/10
Darkly dramatic guitar mood music has a really good riff in it. Music rolls and drives forcefully. Vocal performances are OK, they don't stnad out and the words are repetitive but indecipherable, but it seems to work with this track allowing the music to take centre stage. Overly creative ending is a bit too stylised

Reviewed on 09 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 6/10
Good but not great vocals are fairly good and the sound is pretty neat and tidy but theres no ground breaking sound here

Reviewed on 09 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 7/10
this is a very lound and electryfying track, there is a lot goining on in the track, there is much to enjoy, the tempo is very constructive and the structure is very expertley done, the melody is exceedingly good.

Reviewed on 04 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 3/10
a very old style of track which was not very catchy. this sounded like a rip of a popular song but i guess it had some good rhtyhm to it but not my kind of music i would listen to even in that day and age there.

Reviewed on 04 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 6/10
fast paced track with strong individual instrumental sounds standing out. the vocals weren't too powerful but they could be heard over the track.

Reviewed on 03 Feb 2009 by a  scout
Score: 7/10
What a cool song! Thought it was really good with clear lyrics and some great instrumentals!

Reviewed on 31 Jan 2009 by a  scout
Score: 4/10
This song gets straight into a rythm, the music and lyrics are quite loud and the pace is set very early on, i just dont believe this song really has the lasting quality to make it.

Reviewed on 31 Jan 2009 by a  scout
Score: 8/10
a real good rock sound to the music. great guitarwork with a good rythm to it and a very catchy beat on the drums. very good vocals and lyrics.

Reviewed on 29 Jan 2009 by a  scout
Score: 5/10
its rhythm was kinda engaging in beat but the song was not recorded well,the artist singing it was okay to hear.overall the song was just good 

Reviewed on 28 Jan 2009 by a  scout
Score: 4/10
I dont like this song because your voice can be better and you must sing more understanding with love. song must be longer.

Reviewed on 27 Jan 2009 by a  scout
Score: 5/10
This is a decent song in concept but the production isn't great. There's some good guitarwork especially in the solo and the chorus is memmorable enough to stick but the s ong is let down in places

Reviewed on 25 Jan 2009 by a  scout
Score: 4/10
the vocals and the music doesnt blend well. it lacks the musicality that the listeners will appreciate in a song the artist's voice quaility doesnt fit to the song or music.

Reviewed on 22 Jan 2009 by a  scout
Score: 6/10
the heavy beat at the start of this track was quite restrictive in relation of where you could go with the rest of the track and i think it sounds very 80s as well, and with that it brings some difference to the table and i quite like this song although the lead singers voice is in the background

Reviewed on 21 Jan 2009 by a  scout
Score: 9/10
I really liked the music and thought the guitar was really good, i loved the vocals too and thought that it was one of the most complete songs i have ever heard on here and it was very enjoyable.

Reviewed on 19 Jan 2009 by a  scout
Score: 7/10
The song is toe tapping. It would make you want to shake your boodie! The music is good. The lyrics is good. It would be up to the artist if they want to improve more. But as for me. They are good enough. Good Job guys.

Reviewed on 19 Jan 2009 by a  scout
Score: 7/10
This song has some musical sounds in it, there is a real feeling of good sound in this song which makes it easy to listen to and go along with right through, i also think the vocal style is very good.

Reviewed on 17 Jan 2009 by a  scout
Score: 6/10
I liked the energy at the start of the track, it was good to hear a track start with a quick a tempo. The instruments sounded well played. The vocal sounded good, but I think the mix needs working on a bit, to just make the vocal stand out a bit more over the instruments, as although I did like the vocal the singer didn't have the most powerful voice, so maybe turn the mic up a bit.

TOP

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.